Saturday, October 24, 2009

CBSE Grading system

CBSE Grading system

With the academic year 2009-10, CBSE moves to the next level of education!
Class IX & X students will now be evaluated on a 9-point Grading System that is based on Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE).
The academic year gets divided into 2 terms, each having two types of assessment:
Formative = Evaluation of class work, homework, assignment and project work
Summative = Term End Exams

April - September

Two Formative Assessments each of 10% weightage = 20% Two Formative Assessments each of 10% weightage = 20%

October - March

Term End Exam / Summative = 20% Term End Exam / Summative = 40%
Total = 100%

9-Point Grading System Roadmap

Grade Marks Range
A1 91-100
A2 81-90
B1 71-80
B2 61-70
C1 51-60
C2 41-50
D 33-40
E1 21-32
E2 00-20

Class X (2009-10) Board Exams happen, however, instead of marks - Grades are given
Class IX (2009-10) CCE gets operational from October 2009
Class X (2010-11) CCE gets implemented & Board Exams become optional
Grading system is based on yearlong performance.


  1. Please put the latest sample question paper available for CBSE for class IX and X.......

  2. friends you can also find letest cbse sample papers from here

  3. Nice information, many thanks to the author. It is incomprehensible to me now, but in general, the usefulness and significance is overwhelming. Thanks again and good luck!
    Cbse exam